Custom Search
Showing posts with label Places To Visit. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Places To Visit. Show all posts

Pulau besar (Big Island)

Pulau Besar looks like a pregnant lady lying on her back. The locals around Pulau Besar revere the island and attribute it to many legends. It has also become a place of pilgrimage to a large number of Indian Muslims in Malaysia. Many pilgrims come to Pulau Besar to visit a mausoleum believed to be of a Wali, Sultan Ariffin Syeikh Ismail Waliallah. There are also numerous other graves visited by pilgrims such as that of Datok Janggut, Datuk Puteh and Nenek Kebayan. The group of 7 graves called Makam Tujuh Beradik were torn down by the state religious department during the 90's when the state government initiated construction work to build a hotel and golf course on the island. The resort operated for a few years before it eventually closed.

At the highest point on the island exist a large boulder that is split down the middle. It is named "Batu Belah" and is a favourite destination for local pilgrims. There also exists a cave which is said to be the place of meditation for another Wali named Yusof. Near this cave, it is claimed one can see the footprint of the Wali on a boulder. In 1997 the Malaysian government labeled such practices as deviant and tore down many buildings that were erected around the mausoleum. This caused an uproar in the Indian Muslim communities which frequented Pulau Besar. By 2006, a new hall had been built using private funds from many Indian Muslim businessman.

The island is considered a holy place by local believers. Visitors are advised to abstain from consuming pork on the eve of the day of visit and throughout their stay there. They are also to be in their best behavior while on the island. Visitors can board motorboats at Pernu, Umbai for the short trip to the island. Accommodation is available at a smaller hotel namely Chandek Kura Hotel. Many visitors however pitch tents along the coast. Food is easily available from the few stalls there. Free food and drinks are also available from the Wakaf Makam Tujuh Beradik.


Today, most people would enjoy the recreational activities on the island. There are resorts, a yacht club and a host of water-sport facilities. Visitors can also enjoy evening strolls on the sand, swimming in the calm waters or snorkelling the seabed.




For more information please visit http://www.pulaubesar.com

Melaka Sultanate Palace

The museum, also known as the Istana (Sultanate Palace), is a replica of Sultan Mansur Shah's palace, the famous Sultan who ruled Melaka from 1456 to 1477.

Muzium Kebudayaan (Cultural Museum) was inaugurated in March 1954 by the then Resident Commissioner of Melaka, G.E.C. Wisdom, C.M.G., in a Dutch house built around 1660. The museum was later moved to the Stadhuys in 1982 before it was finally moved into its own complex in the late 1980's.

The RM2.5 million museum was officially opened to the public on July 17, 1986 by Malaysia's Prime Minister Dato' Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Currently, the museum houses about 1,350 items in the form of artefacts, prints, photographs and drawings which represent the history and cultural heritage of the Malay Sultanate of Melaka and the various communities, which came to settle in Melaka during that period.

The three-storey building is divided into eight chambers and three galleries including chambers of the Royal band, weaponry, decorative arts, emissaries and gifts, a recreation hall, an audience hall and an Islamic hall.

The galleries depict the famous clash between the legendary warriors Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat, traditional costumes and the royal bedchamber. Exhibits include prints and photographs of the Melaka Sultanate, a model of the Sultan Mansur Shah Palace, Malay weapons, Malay traditional wedding dress, jewelleries and brassware.



Opening Hours

Daily: 9am - 6pm
Closed on Monday

Admission

Adults: RM2
Children/Students: RM0.50

Last viewed - September 20, 2010

Morten Village ( Kampung Morten )

Many tourists, who have visited Kampung Morten here, described this traditional village as a 'living museum'.

This is no surprise as residents at this world heritage site, located right in the middle of this historic city, have been practicing a lifestyle that does not differ much when compared to that of their forefathers apart from the unique design of the village's houses.

Kampung Morten, named after a British Land Commissioner Frederick Joseph Morten, has 85 homes including 52 Melaka traditional dwellings.

Morten was believed to have played a role in the opening of this village in the 1920s while Othman Mohd Noh was credited as the founder of Kampung Morten.

The village, that sits on land located at the edge of the Melaka river, used to be a mangrove swamp foliaged by a dense nipah jungle.


MALAY VILLAGE

Despite the years, Kampung Morten is the only Malay village in this historic city to have maintained its customs and traditions.

The village's houses were built according to the Malay design of having long roofs and tile-covered stairs made from stone. Intricate wood carvings could also be found at the verandah of these houses. Various flowery plants usually decorate the lawn at these houses.

This has made Kampung Morten a truly unique tourist destination; hence it is no wonder that this village is famous worldwide. Visitors to Kampung Morten would be welcomed by neatly lined Malay traditional houses and a walk through this village could turn into one the 'down memory lane' sojourns.

In 1988, the state government passed a gazette that placed Kampung Morten as a traditional Malay village of heritage significance and turned it into a tourist attraction.

Now, modern multi-storey buildings and the beautiful Melaka river that has undergone an image-uplifting programme flank the village. For tourists who opt for the Melaka River Cruise, a boat ride that snakes along a four-km stretch of Sungai Melaka, they would be in awe after witnessing the charming and tranquil Malay houses at Kampung Morten.




















VILLA SENTOSA, LIVING MUSEUM

At a glance, not many would be able to notice that among these pastoral abodes, there is a residence that stores the Melaka Malay heritage that dates back to more than half a century.

These 'treasures' are kept in a house there, named 'Villa Sentosa'. Othman built this house when he opened the village in 1920.

Nine generations of Othman's descendants have stayed in this house and the occupants have also maintained the villa's traditions. Villa Sentosa, is also dubbed "The Living Museum" by many tourists and was turned into a sort of personal museum on Dec 11, 1991.

A descendant of Othman's, 58-year-old Abdul Rahim Hashim, now runs the villa. When speaking to Bernama recently, Abdul Rahim said Villa Sentosa exhibits a unique interior design apart from having a collection of Malay traditional wear, musical instruments and antique furniture.


FAMILY POSSESSIONS

Visitors to the villa would come to know about the family members of Hashim Abdul Ghani, the father of Abdul Rahim, through photographs and pictures placed on the walls of the 'wedding room'.

Abdul Rahim said the room had been used for 20 weddings of Othman's descendants. Meanwhile, at the villa's sitting room, a family tree illustration provides visitors with information on 'who's who' in Othman's family.

Fourteen windows provide the villa with a profuse infusion of fresh and cool air; hence the house needs no fans and air-conditioners.

This villa also exhibits a traditional Malay wedding dais, bathed in yellow colour as well as various Malay wedding attire that aged some 20 years apart from the other traditional wedding paraphernalia.

There is also a room decorated like that of a Malay wedding room during the old days of the Melaka sultanate.

Among other exhibits are a gong believed to be two centuries old, a 100-year-old cupboard and ceramics.

Also present are a 80-year-old Quran and an English-Arab dictionary published in 1926. There is also a glass cabinet that displays antique cameras.

This villa also greets visitors with its collection of the 50s era record apartment from an assortment of time-honoured weapons like the 'tekpi' (trident) as well as ancient crockery from countries like China, England, Italy and France.

CULTURAL SHOW

"In an effort to promote Villa Sentosa, we also stage a cultural show that incorporates the dongdang sayang and joget lambak. The show is held once a month", said Abdul Rahim.

He said there is no entrance fee for visitors to the villa and his family members would be ever willing to provide information to anybody who request it.

"We do not impose any fee, it is enough for them (tourists) to make contributions for the family which we would use to make repairs and refurbishment to the villa," he added.

Villa Sentosa is opened to visitors daily from 9am to 6pm except on Friday where it is accessible for tourists between 2pm and 6pm.


Kampung Hulu Mosque

























Built in 1728, Masjid Kampung Hulu is the oldest functioning mosque in Malaysia in its original location, at the corner of Jalan Masjid Kampung Hulu and Jalan Masjid in the old commercial district, now dominated by Chinese shop-houses. Commissioned by the Dutch during their colonial occupation, the mosque was a result of a new policy of religious pluralism. Their colonial predecessors, the Portuguese, had destroyed all signs of non-Christian establishments upon their occupation in 1511. This included the tearing down of Malacca's first mosque, which had reputedly stood across from where the Stadhuys, the 1650s Dutch town hall that also served as the offices of the Dutch East India Company stands today. The Dutch assigned coordinating "Kapitans" to head the local populations in the reconstruction of their places of worship. Dato Samsuddin Bin Arom, or Dato Shamsudin, was commissioned to build the Masjid Kampung Hulu. It was later renovated by Wazir Al Sheikh Omar bin Hussain Al-Attas.

Partly due to the Dutch encouragement of cultural cross-pollination, the style of the mosque is reflective of a Javanese mosque. The regionally characteristic roof consists of three ascending layers of flared pyramidal roofs, separated by gaps to allow direct air and light into the building. These tiers are held aloft by four great columns in the center extending to outer columns for the lower, wider roofs. The centralized vertical hierarchy lends the structure to a square plan only disrupted by a small section of the porch area of the iwan, which juts from the front of the mosque. Masjid Kampung Hulu does not employ the Javanese tradition of using timber as the material for the walls, and instead engages stone and brick. The mosque is similarly unique in its elevation from the ground on a low stone perimeter wall.


Like other Malaccan mosques, Chinese ornamentation is revealed in the Masjid Kampung Hulu, including the crown like pinnacle surmounting the roofs and the curved eaves. It further incorporates materials imported from the Chinese Qing Empire, such as ceramic roof and floor tiles. Masjid Kampong Hulu further asserts its distinctiveness in its use of carved sea stones lining the inside of the dome.


Its stone minaret is also distinctly Malaccan in its adherence to a pagoda-form. The Tranquerah mosque was built in Malacca in the same year.

Eye On Malaysia























Eye on Malaysia brings a new perspective to the dynamic city of Melaka. Soaring to giddy heights 60 metres, “Eye on Malaysia” is the largest portable wheel in the world.

The “Eye on Malaysia” provides stunning views across Melaka city. This astounding viewing wheel consists of 42 fully air-conditioned gondolas, 39 of which have the capacity to carry a cosy eight passengers per 12-minute ride.

An exclusive VIP gondola has also been outfitted to include plush leather seats fit for a king, a mini fridge, a DVD player, a plasma TV and a mobile telephone. There are also two specially designed gondolas, fitted with unique features making it friendly to our wheelchair-bound and handicapped visitors that join us.

For More Information Please Visit : http://www.eyeonmalaysia.com.my


Stadhuys


"Melaka's Dutch legacy is very much alive in the distinctive red building called the Stadhuys, the administrative centre of successive governments but now a history museum."

This Stadhuys was once a centre of the Dutch administration in Melaka and housed the quarters of its governors and officers.

This massive red building was built between 1641 and 1660 on the ruins of a Portuguese fort, and is believed to be the oldest Dutch building in the East. It displays all the typical features of Dutch colonial architecture, including substantial solid doors and louvred windows. For over 300 years, from its completion until 1980, it was the administrative centre of successive governments.

Today, the Dutch legacy is very much alive. In 1982, the Stadhuys was converted into a history museum. Exhibits trace Melaka's history, from the great Malay Sultanate and the Portuguese, Dutch and British invasions, to the present day.

A Famosa Fotress


A Famosa (Malay language: Kota A Famosa), or "The Famous" in Portuguese, is a fortress located in Malacca, Malaysia. It is among the oldest surviving European architectural remains in Asia. Only a tiny gate (called the Porta de Santiago) is all that is left of a once-mighty fortress.

History

In 1511 a Portuguese fleet arrived under the command of Alfonso de Albuquerque. His forces attacked and successfully defeated the armies of the Malacca Sultanate. Moving quickly to consolidate his gains, Albuquerque had the fortress built around a natural hill near the sea. Albuquerque believed that Melaka would become an important port linking Portugal to the spice trade from China. At this time other Portuguese were establishing outposts in such places as Macau, China and Goa, India in order to create a string of friendly ports for ships heading to China and returning home to Portugal.

The fortress once consisted of long ramparts and four major towers. One was a four-story keep, while the others held an ammunition storage room, the residence of the captain, and an officers' quarters. Most of the village clustered in town houses inside the fortress walls. As Melaka's population expanded it outgrew the original fort and extensions were added around 1586. The fort changed hands in 1641 when the Dutch successfully drove the Portuguese out of Melaka. The Dutch renovated the gate in 1670, which explains the logo "ANNO 1670" inscribed on the gate's arch. Above the arch is a bas-relief logo of the Dutch East India Company.

The fortress changed hands again in the early 19th century when the Dutch handed it over to the British to prevent it from falling into the hands of Napoleon's expansionist France. The English were wary of maintaining the fortification and ordered its destruction in 1806. The fort was almost totally demolished but for the timely intervention of Sir Stamford Raffles, the founder of Singapore, who happened to visit Melaka in 1810. Because of his passion for history, this small gate was spared from destruction.

Archaeological finding

In late November 2006, a structure part of the fort, believed to be the Middelsburgh Bastion was accidentally uncovered during the construction of 110 meter revolving tower in Malacca Town. The construction of the tower has been postponed indefinitely following the discovery. Malacca Museums Corporation suspects the structure was built by the Dutch during the Dutch occupation of Malacca from 1641 to 1824.

Earlier in June 2003, a watchtower named Santiago Bastion was discovered during the construction of Dataran Pahlawan.

Hang Tuah's Well

Hang Tuah’s well is located in Kampung Duyong where Hang Tuah was born and spent his childhood among four of his good friends who would later become the famous warriors of Malacca Sultanate.

Hang Tuah's well, It is said by the locals, the well contain Hang Tuah's spirit in the form of a white crocodile. It is also believed that the spirit can only be seen by the spiritually pure plus the well water has healing powers.

Related links about Hang Tuah
1. Legends of Hang Tuah

Eye On Melaka

Located opposite the old Cathay Cinema and on the former Express Bus terminal, MALACCA EYE will be another added tourist attraction.

Besides the Malacca Eye, there will be the Pirate Ship and the Trampoline - all located in the same area.

Since they are beside the Melaka River, visitors can travel up the Melaka River, hop off to enjoy the new attractions and then walk down the Melaka River walk.

Prices for each attraction is RM 5.00 for Adults and RM 3.00 for children.

All the above attractions are now open to the public.

The Ferris Wheel - Eye on Melaka
























If you want to get a ticket, you can get from the counter or at Melaka Tourist Information Centre at Jalan Kota, Ayer Keroh and Melaka Sentral. Or you call at this no : +6012-6355301.

Have a try this Melaka Pirate Park and you will enjoy it.

Pirate Ship View from the Ferris Wheel


Trampoline Bungee

Copyright © 2008 - Visit Melaka - is proudly powered by Blogger